Momma Drives a Dump Truck

by gradycarter

My momma drives a dump truck.

A post shared by Grady Carter (@gradycarter) on

For the last year almost my mom has been embarking on a new life endeavor, she has been flipping houses in my home town of Norman, Oklahoma. In December 2012 I moved home from Arkansas to embark on that journey with her, to keep her books and to be another hand to hold nails and paint walls. It’s been a lot of fun, but not always very easy. Today however is a special day. My mom, Kelcie has been teaching at a private school part-time, along with her many other entrepreneurial part-time jobs for 20 years!!! And she started working as a teacher about 40 years ago. Today, my friends, is the last day that my mom will likely be a teacher in the traditional meaning. Of course she will always love on kids, and she will always be teaching those around her how to love and work hard, but this is her last day working in a school, at least for the foreseeable future…

This is pretty surreal for me and my whole family, but to say the least I’m very proud of my mom. She has been bold and courageous as long as I’ve known her, and jumping full-time into the role of the Mother Flipping Houses © (wouldn’t that be a great name for a show?) is a whole lot of fun to be a part of. I don’t usually blog about our business, but I’ll probably have to post some before and after pictures of some of our houses sometime soon. Maybe one day we’ll end up on an HGTV reality show, I’m pushing for it :-). So if you know me mom feel free to tell her that you love her, and that she is so smart, and that this is a great idea – it definitely is.