Life Update: Grady’s Moving!

by gradycarter

562818_10100742622395732_2137023590_n

Dear Friends, Family and Strangers:

Some of you already know what I’m about to say, and the rest of you clicked on this link without reading it, but I’m very excited to announce that I’m moving back to Norman, Oklahoma at the end of this week! I moved away from Norman on October 12th, 2010, to Pennsylvania to stay with my sister Carrick for a little while. While there I was connected with a group call No Labels in D.C., where I interned for a couple of months. That was a complete blast, but for the last 2 years however I’ve been managing a Frozen Yogurt store called Orange Leaf in Little Rock, Arkansas. Orange Leaf has been a wonderful company, and they have my full endorsement. I’m going to miss my employees very much. I feel like I was a teenager a couple of days ago, so sometimes it is very weird when I realize that I am 10 years older than some of them… I have made a lot of great friends in Little Rock, and I intend to keep in contact with them. I am sad to leave everybody here, but at the same time incredibly excited to be back home (and Norman will always be home base).

As for my future plans in Norman, I have been looking at a few possible jobs that I might be interested in, and I will update more on that process later, but I decided that I actually just wanted to move home and help my mom flip houses! My mom and I have an incredible friendship, and since she is exploring this relatively new endeavor in her life, and I have a lot of flexibility in my own life I asked her if she would hire me. So, we’re going into business, at least for a little while. I will probably have to post a few pictures (before and after) of the houses that we flip, but I’ll try to make sure that I keep my blog consistently filled with political information that most of my friends do not care about. I can see what people click on, I know the political posts aren’t that cool, but I post them because I feel like I have to. If you look at which posts have the most views the ones that have something to do with my actual life get the most views, and for that I’m thankful and feel loved. Here is a post from this past June that shows just that “My Top Ten Most Viewed Posts“.

As this is a milestone in my life I want to take a quick moment to say thank you to everybody who reads this blog, but especially to those of you (and you know who you are) who give me feedback, even if it’s in private. I know that some of the things that I post and comment about are somewhat progressive, and I know that I am from Oklahoma and living in Arkansas… I don’t write or post to hurt feelings, or to simply hear my own voice. I started this blog a little over 2 years ago when I was going through a period in my life of immense ups and downs, and I felt a very clear conviction to use my voice to speak and connect with those who want to have a conversation – I wasn’t even in search of people who simply agreed with me. And I actually stopped writing for a little while, but I started back this Spring, and it had a very deep impact on my life. I actually posted this Spring about having a hole in my life where writing and conversation belonged in a post called “The Void”, and ever since then I’ve made a conscious effort to exercise my voice and mind with anyone who’s willing to join me. I have a lot of friends who will text me, or tell me in person what they think about this blog, and I absolutely love it… I encourage you to use your voice, even if that means only amongst a trusted few. There is little in the world as healing and cleansing and honest conversation.

If you’ve made it this far you really must love me, which means we love each other. I do love feedback whether public or private, and I hope that you choose to have conversations you’ve been meaning to have today. If you live in Oklahoma I hope to see you soon. And thank you Arkansas for being good to me, I will come back to visit you soon. I’m sorry if this post seems disorganized, it kind of is, I’m just not good at goodbyes so I thought I’d get it all out of the way. Again, thanks for reading, and I hope that all of your dreams come true.

love,

Grady