by gradycarter

gnostic bent

When I was a kid, and despite the fact that I was larger than most children my age, I sometimes fell victim to bullies. Granted, this mistreatment never lasted long because I always fought back, but such is not the case these days. The technology boom of the internet, webcams and cell phones have opened up a whole new world in which bullies may operate, and sometimes the results can be fatal.

Two years ago, 18-year-old Tyler Clementi, a freshman at Rutgers University, jumped to his death from the George Washington Bridge after his roommate secretly broadcast his gay tryst with another student on the web. While this may not seem like bullying, at least not in the traditional sense, it did cause irreparable harm to Clementi. And in his mind, the only solution was to commit suicide.

Something similar happened recently to 15-year-old Amanda Todd of Coquitlam…

View original post 242 more words