By What Authority Are You Worried?

by gradycarter

We live in a very complex world, in trivial times, and I am constantly observing people who find it very important to let others know just how hard of a time they are having… I have been guilty of this from time to time for multiple reasons. I don’t want people to think that: I’m lazy, I don’t understand struggle, I’m ungrateful, etc. Perpetual worry like this seems like a yawn to me, it’s incredibly contagious… And being worried has plenty of health implications (and outside of surviving I don’t think that any of them have shown to be anything but unhealthy). Why do we struggle to enjoy our time alive? I don’t know the answer to that, but I do have a lot confidence that finding reasons to minimize your worries can be invaluably good for you in many ways.

I’m not exactly a Unitarian, and I mean no disrespect to anyone who is by saying that I’m not, but virtually any religion that you will find (especially mainstream) speak specifically about not worrying… If you aren’t religious at all I would love to hear what you think about worry (as one of my favorite comedy bits is from Bill Maher talking about how natural worry is, and it’s hard for me to disagree, but in the end I do think that minimizing worry is best). I grew up in a Christian home and maybe the most quoted scripture in my home was this:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. – Philipians 4: 6-7 New Living Translation

From everything that I’ve come to understand with all of my friends of differing faiths I am continually met with people who seem to know this same message about being grateful for what I have, and valuing my time. I don’t want to be to “preachy” by any means, but I do want to ask the question, what do you worry about that you should let go of? Well you might want to take a minute and close your eyes and listen to this song while you let go of a few things.