Economic Growth on Earth in the 4th Quarter of 2011

by gradycarter

Ok, so on Real Time with Bill Maher last week (Friday, April 13, 2012) he showed this chart of GDP growth around the world in the last quarter of 2011, and it showed that the United States far outperformed many of the other powerful economic powers of the world. He showed this picture to make the connection that Governor Romney has been repeatedly saying that Obama didn’t make the recession, but that he made it much worse, and that this statement doesn’t actually seem to be true. Of course this is just one chart, about one quarter of economic growth, but I would like to know why I shouldn’t believe that Gov. Romney isn’t wrong about this. I am looking for someone who help me figure that out. I made a post recently about an article that compared this current recovery to the one in the 1980’s under President Reagan, and the analysis of the article (and my personal commentary) was that maybe the recovery of the 1980’s was faster than the current one for multiple reasons, including a possibility that it was too fast (click here to read a previous post about the comparing of these recoveries).

I am posting this to go along with my theme as of late that I like a lot of things about Gov. Romney as a governor, but as a campaigner I am repeatedly disappointed… I am trying not to become too closed-minded to things that he says on the campaign trail, but he continually panders… I just think that America deserves a President who will be honest with them whether it feels good or not – whether it will get them elected or not. I know that both sides play games, but Romney has become a different person inorder to get this nomination, and not that he has it I’m ready for him to start being more honest again. Now that he has the nomination locked up I’m hoping that he changes this poor behavior.

Alright, I’m done. Please feel free to comment or respond however you’d like. If I’m wrong please set me straight.

Love,
Grady