Frozen Butterbeer for the Deathly Hallows Premiere

by gradycarter

In honor of the fact that I just watched the first movie of the 2 movies for the 7th Harry Potter Book today I thought that I’d share this thing that I found a couple of days ago. And yes, I actually plan to make and try this magical treat.

How To Make Your Own “Butter Beer” For A Harry Potter Party!

Frozen Butterbeer for the Deathly Hallows Premiere

There’s something you might not know about me.  I’m a huge fan of the Harry Potter books and movies.  I wasn’t always, but once I watched one movie, I was hooked.  I was devastated when I found out Eric and I were moving away from Orlando before Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened at Universal’s Islands of Adventure.  Luckily, we were able to fly back over the summer and use our season passes one last time.  Even though it was incredibly hot and crowded, it was totally worth it to be able to experience a small part of the Harry Potter world.  Walking through Hogsmeade was like being in another country, and I felt totally immersed in it.  We loved everything about the park, but I think it’s safe to say our favorite thing there was the frozen butterbeer.

The Hog's Head at Wizarding World of Harry Potter Butterbeer at Wizarding World of Harry Potter

Butterbeer, for those who don’t know, is a favorite drink of young witches and wizards.  While there’s enough alcohol in it to make a house elf drunk, there’s not enough to do the same to humans.  The butterbeer at Wizarding World was not made with alcohol, for obvious reasons.  Also, it was taste-tested by J.K. Rowling herself.  Pretty cool, right?  This butterbeer tastes very much like a cream soda, with notes of butterscotch in the background.  Like the kind at Wizarding World, it has a slightly slushy texture.  However, the really fun part about it is the foamy topping.  The frozen butterbeer at Wizarding World comes from a tap, with a separate tap dispensing the foamy topping.  Having a butterbeer mustache is something to be proud of, so skip the straws when drinking this drink.  😉

Looking for more Harry Potter recipes to celebrate the premiere of Deathly Hallows this week? Come back tomorrow for another magical treat!

Frozen Butterbeer

Frozen Butterbeer
Ingredients: 
For the butterbeer:
1 1/2 cups cream soda
6 tablespoons butterscotch schnapps
2 cups ice

For the foamy topping:
6 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon butterscotch schnapps

Directions:
Combine cream soda, schnapps and ice in a blender. Blend until slushy. Pour into a glass or mug. In a small bowl, combine heavy cream and schnapps. Using an electric mixer, whisk together until almost whipped. You want the cream mixture to be slightly loose, not as firm as whipped cream. Top the butterbeer with the foamy topping and serve immediately.

Serves 2

Cook Like a Champion original