Carefully Uncaring Care – Do We Pay Too Much For Healthcare?…

by gradycarter

In the above chart there is portrayed a scenario that many Americans refuse to come to terms with, simply pay way more than anyone else on Earth for health care… There is one way to look at it where we will find that we are simply looking at GDP (gross domestic product) and so that doesn’t mean that actual dollars/(whatever currency we want to compare to) that are being spent are completely comparable in those instances, those charts are referencing the % of our nations commerce essentially that is being put towards healthcare, so maybe that could be a missrepresentation of what the true discrepancy actually is… And that is true, but the actual indication of this fact is even more devastating than if our GDP were to be the same, because our actual GDP is higher than any other country, by a long shot…

Here’s another telling Image: (Click on it to see the Website)

So, with us paying a higher percentage of our GDP, and having the highest GDP we are really paying a significant amount more for out healthcare than anyone else in the world… It really should be explained more clearly. The argument of whether or not we receive the best healthcare is definitely a very serious debate that must take place, but I think that first we must really face the facts about how much we are spending for our healthcare compared to everyone else…

Here is another chart that indicates the very accelerated level at which we pay for healthcare.

Here’s a link to where I got this chart

There could be many reasons why we pay so much here. I’ll list a few ideas that I have right now about this:
Reasons Why I Believe/The I’ve Heard Healthcare in The United States of America is By Far the Most Expensive in The World…

1. Administrative cost rises with competition an dueling entities (not saying competition is bad, but that is almost guaranteed to be the case when so many people are repeatedly performing the same tasks and not communicating with one another about important information that probably should be, but isn’t passed around from practice to practice due to competition…

2. We spend an outrageous amount of money at the end of our lives as well as at the beginning.

3. I’ve heard people say that development and research costs that are paid here, that are not passed on to other countries to do things like generic brands/knock-off brands. I’m not sure how much I believe this theory yet, but I wouldn’t be too surprise because let’s face it we can pay it, and we do…

4. We have pretty good care (I feel like I should note in here that there are amazing things that happen in the U.S. everyday in the medical world, and it should not be over-looked. I am however writing this post with the intention of pointing out that it’s not perfect).

5. The Profit Motive… I mean come on, if you think I’m crazy for saying it just look at the term itself, it is the doing of things for money, don’t you think that negotiating and manipulating (as people do) for money is a possibility?… And before you get excited and start telling yourself, or others around you about how terrible the government it just stop for a second and realize that I never said anything about the Government… This conversation is about businesses, and the profit motive can really make people pay big bucks (i.e. I just paid a ton of money for a new iPhone and Apple charged it because they could, not because they needed to)…

6. Insurance Companies/Pharmaceutical Companies – They both provide a service that has a very important place in this country, but I have some major, Major, skepticisms of both of them. I keep begging to say that one is especially scary to me, but then I think about the other and I am back to square one… This number could be a very long conversation, and if you don’t know about these to entities do a little research. I would recommend watching the movie Sicko by Michael Moore, and take it all with a grain of salt. Some people will have some major ideological differences with the film maker, and that is completely ok, but there are some very important messages that can be taken from that Documentary.

Oh, and here is a very interesting video from his TV show “The Awful Truth” that shows a great example about insurance companies and the reason why they terrify me…

Ok, back to the list.
7. Our Lifestyles/Fastfood – I think that between our stress of work/debt/family/etc. and our terrible eating habits combined with often very little physical activity there is no wonder why many of us are struggling to get by and feel healthy each day.

I first want to say that I’m not advocating a completely governmentally run healthcare system, but I’m also open to listening to people who think that is our best option, I bet they have some good ideas. I know that there are many other factors that I’m not thinking about as I’m writing this post rather quickly, but the main point of doing this post in the first place is that I think that we just pay way too much money for our healthcare after considering the rest of the worlds circumstances.

I just thought that I would poll people on this a little bit. I know that this will probably get a very overwhelming vote to one side (the side of change) but I would love to see if there are people reading this who completely disagree and think that we are just fine as is. Either way feel free to vote or comment below.

Thanks for reading, and I love getting feedback (comments, calls, messages, emails, texts, etc.) I hope that you’ve enjoyed hearing what I think.

Love,
Grady