My First Day In NYC: Videos and Pics

by gradycarter

Saturday, November 13, 2010

The City So Nice They Named It Twice

Today was my first taste of a place that I think will probably be one of my favorite in the world for the rest of my life. Hartleigh and I went to my first every Broadway show, and it was incredible… I’ll get into that later in the post. So let’s start at the beginning of my arrival. I love big cities, and I love trying to make friends with people I don’t know, and there are a lot of people here. I got here last night, and Hartleigh and I walked straight to Time Square, which was amazing, and then we pretty much went home, not before getting some great pizza. Here is a video of Time Square.

Time Square

By the way, this day included my dearest friend Hartleigh Buwick, and I just wanted to reference her Blog really quick for anyone who might be interested:
Delicious Ambiguity

This morning we woke up, ate some great omelets that she made, and then did the dumbest/smartest thing we could’ve done… We did an “Insanity” workout. If you don’t know what that is it’s no big deal, just google it if you’re curious. I was exhausted, but when it was all said and done it made our day go much better.

We then decided to hop on the Subway (fyi: they don’t take sub club cards…) and we went to Manhattan and walked around for a while. Here are some pictures and videos of what ensued.

And feel free to go straight to the facebook album if you’d like:
The Facebook Album


Grady "Kenneth the Page" Carter


30 Rock
Hartleigh got lost for a second in all of the mirrors...

And here are the rest of the videos:

30 Rockefeller Center

The Scary Movie Tunnel

Oh, and right before this we met an old Chinese guy in Central Park who was playing something that looked and sounded like and “Ar hu” but he said it was something different. He let me play it (insisted actually) and I figured our Hot Cross Buns and Mary Had a Little Lamb of course. It was really fun to speak Chinese with him. I love speaking Chinese with Chinese people because they get So excited, hahaha. I don’t know that much, but we chatted for a few minutes.

The “Big” Piano

And the thing about the night that was the most amazing part of all is that Hartleigh got us tickets to go see “In The Heights” and Jordin Sparks (American Idol winner) was in it… It was freaking great. Oh, and did I mention that it won the Tony Award for the best show in 2008?… It was great. I will say that miss Sparks was not the best actress, but her voice was seriously unbelievable… It’s about a neighborhood in New York, called Washington Heights. It made me imagine how proud those people in that neighborhood must be of this show. I just know that if there was a show about “The Trails” on Broadway I would freak out… I’m really curious as to what that show might look like though… But anyways, this show was fantastic.

Watching this performance really did challenge my thinking, and caused me to ask myself more seriously why I don’t have a creative outlet in my life with consistency… That was probably my biggest lesson for the day.

Overall it was a great day… Thanks for caring enough about my life to have read this if you’re still reading. I am comfortable saying that I love you if you are still looking at your screen.

Love,
Grady

p.s. Feel free to comment below (you don’t need an account)