The Bush Tax Cuts – Poll

by gradycarter

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

I first want to say that this issue is definitely not one that is black and white, and I understand that it is very serious to almost everyone. With that being said I would like to say that it does not hurt my feelings if you disagree with me, I will get over it.

The following is a link to an article written by a man who decided to assert some of his thoughts about common discussion that is misleading to voters about the Bush Tax cuts.

READ THIS:
Five myths about the Bush tax cuts

I do have some personal feelings about this, and I only want to say a little bit. I first want to say that I understand that I don’t yet make a reasonable wage so it would be easier for me to be comfortable with the tax cuts expiring. However, that does not mean that I don’t have something at stake here.

There is a Poll at the end of this, but I just wanted to say my thoughts so at the current time. I must first say that I agree for the most part with the article above. I’m not all-knowing, but I do find that information to be as accurate as I know of right now.

Some people seem to think that by extending the tax cuts we would better be able to eliminate the deficit, I am not one of those people. I might be completely wrong about this, but I think that for the last decade a mixture of some natural causes, and more man made reasons (war, these tax cuts, along with many inefficiencies of our government) we have mad it harder on ourselves that we had to. We spent a LOT of money on wars, that we weren’t spending before, and then took away from the general fund from which that money was coming… We spend more, and collected less, it just doesn’t make sense.

I do love that in this nation we have the ability to work harder and make more, to be very simplistic about it. But we all know that it isn’t just that simple… It’s a matter of who has financial means and or capital. This doesn’t mean that people should be punished for doing well, but what about helping to provide for a system that allowed them to succeed? This is a very tough conversation to have, and I do understand the very elementary belief that people should keep what they make, but it’s just a matter of keeping a society functioning, and for the United States maybe the biggest threat to our civilization is our unbelievable National Deficit. I may be wrong but it is my understanding that in order to fix that it is very important that we work on that ASAP, and letting at least some of these tax cuts expire seems to me to be one step in the right direction. Where that line is I’m not sure, but I am very interested to hear projections and possibilities.

Here is a video of Pulitzer Prize winning author Jared Diamond about “why societies collapse”. It is very interesting, mostly about the environment, but it is very relevant. I encourage you to watch the whole video, but if you don’t feel like doing that just skip ahead to about 11:30 and listen for a couple of minutes. He is saying that the rich don’t care if a society kind of crumbles beneath them, as long as they’ll be ok, and I am beginning to think that this is what could happen with our national deficit, and that the Bush Tax Cuts could be an effect of that. Not trying to hurt anyone’s feelings, but watch this video, and feel free to skip ahead to about 11:30 and listen for a couple of minutes.

One of Jared Diamonds biggest messages made in his Pulitzer Prize winning book “Guns, Germs, and Steel” is that people throughout history have been born into very different circumstances and these are the reasons why the ones who have succeeded have. It’s not just that simple but it’s worth paying some attention to.

Here’s a link about that book:
Guns, Germs, and Steel

I might be way off on this, but my current opinion is that some of the tax cuts should be allowed to expire. I would love to hear what others think, and I’m not apposed to changing my mind if someone makes a very solid argument.

Now, I would love to hear what you guys think about this. So here’s what I want to know:

Thanks for reading/voting, and let me know what your thoughts about all of this are, I’d like to know as much about this as I can.

Grady