Chinese Party Elders Support Freedom of Speech!

by gradycarter

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

So I try not to become overly supportive of any political ideology as there must be checks and balances, and any system can can be corrupted because they are man-made. However, if there is one thing that I think is possibly the closest that I will come to saying is an absolutely great thing for any society it is freedom of speech, even more than democracy. These were the two battles being fought in China in 1989 at Tiananmen Square. If you’ve never heard about what happened at Tiananmen you should watch these:

and

Once you’ve watched one or both of those you should read this new article that I saw on Yahoo News:

Freedom of Speech in China

and: (Newer)

Nobel Winner gaining support

This article is about what some Chinese Elders in the Communist Party have said about actually following there laws and allowing freedom of speech. This is most likely in a reaction to Liu Xiaobo winning the Nobel Peace Prize. Xiaobo has been imprisoned for speaking against the government, and is set to serve an 11 year term…

This is a big battle that has been going on for a long time all over the world – and if you think that it never happens in The United States I’m sorry to say that I think you are wrong. I think that oppression by restriction of information happens all over, but I really just want to talk about China for a second.

Having lived in China I think that this fight could be revolutionary for the world. In 2008 when people around the world were protesting the riots in Tibet (an autonomous region of China) before the Olympics in China I had Chinese people asking me why these people hated Chinese people, and I realized that the suppression of information had caused there to be a real problem, people were being divided under false pretenses… I had to explain to my friends that they were not protesting the Chinese government because the hated the average Chinese person, but because they loved them… They were trying to support the average person by telling the government not to treat any of the people that they govern unfairly. I also think that there might have been some American citizens who hadn’t really considered this motivation for the protests either, and this is just another reason why I think that creating a more efficient flow of information would be a very beneficial thing for the world.

And I just wanted to throw this last thing in here which is a picture of me in Tiananmen Square in 2008:

Me at the Forbidden City, across the street from Tiananmen Square